Display an anchor ad
Connect with us

Australia Awards Scholarships


Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships, previously known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), offer opportunities for individuals from developing countries, particularly those in the Indo-Pacific region, to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate studies at selected Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Host Institution(s):

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Level/Field(s) of study:

Australia Awards Scholarships support undergraduate or postgraduate programs that align with the priority areas for development in the recipient country, as specified in the participating country profiles. However, these scholarships do not cover training in fields related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology, or military training.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

Australia Awards Scholarships are available to citizens of countries across Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East that are listed as participating countries. To find out if your country is eligible, please refer to the complete list of participating countries provided by the Australia Awards program. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

The Australia Awards Scholarships typically include a comprehensive range of benefits such as full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, and more. For a detailed list of benefits, please visit the official website.

These scholarships are provided for the minimum duration required for the recipient to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training that may be necessary.


To be eligible for an Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  1. Minimum Age: Applicants must be at least 18 years old on February 1 of the year they commence the scholarship.
  2. Citizenship: They must be citizens of a participating country listed on the Australia Awards website and must apply for the scholarship from their country of citizenship.
  3. Residency: Applicants must not hold Australian citizenship, permanent residency in Australia, or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently. Additionally, they must not be married to, engaged to, or in a de facto relationship with an Australian or New Zealand citizen or permanent resident.
  4. Military Service: They must not be current serving military personnel.
  5. Previous Awards: Applicants must not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time they were in Australia.
  6. Criminal Convictions: They must not have convictions for criminal activities, including those related to Child Protection and PSEAH, in their home country or elsewhere.
  7. Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP): Recipients under the PSSSP who have completed their secondary school education in Australia in the previous year are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award.
  8. Specific Criteria: Applicants must meet any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of their country of citizenship, such as having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector.
  9. Admission Requirements: They must satisfy the admission requirements of the institution where the award will be undertaken.
  10. Department of Home Affairs Requirements: Applicants must satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa.
  11. Academic Level: They must not apply for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than they have already achieved.
  12. Transparency: Applicants must disclose any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas or managing contractors to ensure transparent management of the application process.

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

To apply for the Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants should first check the open and close dates for their country and select their country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries. This will provide specific information on eligibility criteria, priority areas, and application procedures. The deadline for applications is April 30, 2024, at 11:59pm AEST.

Applicants can apply online or by mail if unable to apply online. It’s essential to thoroughly read the “how to apply” page and visit the country-specific pages on the official website for detailed and updated information on the application process.

For more information and to access the application portal, please visit the official website provided below. CLICK HERE

Website: Official Scholarship Website: 

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Scholarships

To Top